A Conversation

Interviewer: What would you say is your end game in this business? Where would you like being a PA to lead?

Me: I would like to be the showrunner of my own comedy series. I would love to do a multi-camera sitcom.

Interviewer: How do you think this job would help you with your future goals?

Me: Honestly I think of everything as a way of helping. Because as a showrunner you are in charge of so much and have so many decisions to make on the daily that knowing as much as I can about this business and who & how they effect them will effect how I plan to make decisions in future. So every decision I make can be as informed as possible.  I even find ways to make jobs I’ve had at say Subway, or a theater box office as practice for my future. Even if it was as simple as learning to interact with different kinds of people or reminding myself that juggling school, theatre & film gigs, and a full time job would help accumulate me to (hopefully) being busy like that with my own work in the future and learning to juggle doing so much at once.

Interviewer: What is your ultimate dream job or career?

Me: I would like to be the Shonda Rhimes of comedy.

 

(yes, I actually did say that in an interview)

Leave a comment